Skip to content

granny square afghan

January 12, 2010
tags: ,

One of my local yarn stores had a sale on Cascade 220 and I couldn’t help myself from buying a few skeins. But they didn’t have a big color selection, so when I got home I hopped onto Jimmy Beans Wool and ordered a few more colors.  They should arrive soon and in the meantime, I’ve whipped up a few squares to start an afghan.

That purple isn’t Cascade – it’s Rowan’s All-Seasons cotton. I bought it on a whim because I’ve read good things about it and thought that I’d stitch it into a square just to get a feel for it (and cause I like playing around with mixing fibers). I don’t really like it that much, at least not for this project.  It has a weird, rubbery feel to it and I had to use a smaller hook to maintain the sizing. But it’s a pretty color, and I’ll throw it in a few more squares to keep consistency in the afghan.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

