Skip to content

ragged distractions

March 5, 2010
tags: ,

Things aren’t so hot with me right now. My boyfriend and I have both lost our jobs for budgetary reasons- I’m employed until the end of June, but he got canned yesterday. Pile on a big and ongoing family crisis and it’s been a stressful couple of months.

I handle stress in a few different ways, and making things is one of those. Whether it’s making something in the sewing room or in the kitchen, it’s comforting. After we got word of his layoff yesterday (and subsequently, a reduction of our household income by 1/3) I spent a few hours in my sewing room and started making a rag quilt with the stash i’ve been trying to diminish (I’d already cut some squares a few weeks ago but hadn’t touched it since). It was a nice distraction.

I don’t really know how it’s going to look once it’s done- I decided to add the plaid in to make it bigger. I cut the squares 8″x8″ and have a 1″ seam. The blanket will be 7×8 squares so if my math (and my sewing) is right, it should be about 42″x48″.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. seventhsister26 permalink
    March 6, 2010 1:32 am

    I too find comfort in making things when I am stressed. And being out of work is something I am familiar with, though mine is due to other things.
    Working on killing the stash….I think scraps reproduce on their own once they make it into the scrap box…I’ve been working with the same scrap stuff for a couple of years now. I am about ready to donate the box and get it out of my sight;)
    Happy Quilting!!

    • March 9, 2010 10:45 am

      Thanks! I don’t think I’ll have enough time to use up all my scraps, maybe I should just donate them too =)

Leave a Reply

